May days

Happy May. I am putting up this post amidst a very hectic time of long work days, time spent on my bicycle traversing some neat trails, decompressing on the beach & sporadic outings. Life is good & very busy!

I am trying not to fall away from posting but I will admit that it has been a while (okay, maybe four to five weeks ago?!) since I posted last – it is about a week into May afterall! Speaking of May, it’s funny how a lot of the locals here bemoan ‘spring’ & complain that it’s more like “April flowers & May showers”.  Despite of a random passing of the Santa Ana winds last week (amounting to ~90º) – it’s been overcast, a bit windy & even raining – if you know me; you know that I am loving it!

Thanks to an Earth Day community event that I chanced upon, I had the opportunity to sow an herb garden! This is something that I’ve always wanted to do but had always lacked the space & accessibility to sunlight.

Image

In Seattle, I had always managed to kill plants.. But I am finding that constant care & attention (water+sunlight) are key to their survival (this is common sensical I know but really!). I love growing them; it’s so amazing to see them come from such tiny seeds & flourishing. I look forward to being able to harvest them. I’ve also sown radishes – it’s all very exciting to me! Something about the little seedlings sprouting.
ImageImageImage

I’ve also got rosemary & lavender coming along; though they aren’t are lively as these three at the moment! Any advice about patio planting? Please share as I am clearly a novice. What’s everyone else planting? (:

Leave a Reply

Life at Kobo

Artisan gallery and design shop in Seattle, WA

True Story

Part of me wants to spare you the details. Part of me wants to tell you everything.

729 layers

recipes and stories from my kitchen

Pizzeria Gabbiano

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Le Nomade

The Journal & Journey of a Chef

Pasteria Lucchese

Artisan Pastas, Sauces & Desserts

Jim Drohman

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

A Bread A Day

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Mark Bittman

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Sugimoto America Blog

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Jeannie Huang

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Il Corvo Pasta

Il Corvo Pasta | Pasta Fatta A Mano | Handmade Pasta

David Lebovitz

Paris based chef baking and writing cookbooks

Breakaway Cook

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

A Plum By Any Other Name

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Fat of the Land

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Orangette

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

Nordljus - en

. photography, musings, recipes & tea

